Accept and Continue

Cookies on this site

This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content

A2 jct improvements - proposed scheme

Statutory public consultation

Highways England announced the preferred route for the A2 Bean and Ebbsfleet junction improvements scheme in August 2017.

Highways England is intending to make an application to the Secretary of State for a Development Consent Order (DCO) to gain consent to build this scheme under the Planning Act 2008.  Before we can make this application, we are required to consult with the local community on our proposed scheme with a statutory consultation. 

In line with the Government’s Road Investment Strategy, Highways England has committed to developing a scheme that improves traffic flow, increases safety and capacity, and boosts local growth at these key junctions.

The statutory public consultation about the proposed scheme will run for six weeks from 21 February to 4 April 2018.

Following consultation with the local authorities we published the Statement of Community Consultation (SoCC) on our website to coincide with the official press notice last week. The SoCC sets out how we will consult stakeholders and the community. We will be updating our website again on the first day of the consultation 21 February.

The consultation materials will be published on our website ( from 21 February 2018.

This includes the brochure and questionnaire as well as the Preliminary Environment Report (PEIR), Scheme Assessment Report and Technical Appraisal Report.

Following the consultation we will produce a consultation report, which will be considered as part of the scheme development process.

We are holding six consultation events in the local community, please see details below: 

Public Consultation events

Heritage Community Hall, Craylands Lane, Swanscombe, DA10 0LP

  • Wednesday 21 February 2018 14:00 – 18:00

Bean Youth and Community Centre, High Street, Bean, DA2 8AS

  • Saturday 24 February 2018 10:00 – 15:00

Bluewater Shopping Centre, Dartford, DA9 9ST

  • Saturday 3 March 2018 09:00 – 21:00

Eastgate, Springhead Parkway, Northfleet, DA11 8AD

  • Saturday 10 March 2018 10:00 – 15:00

Ebbsfleet International Station, Dartford, DA10 1EB

  • Thursday 15 March 2018 7:00 – 9:00
  • Thursday 15 March 15:00 – 19:00

Stone Pavilion, Hayes Road, Stone, DA9 9DS

  • Saturday 17 March 2018 10:00 – 14:00

Paper copies of the consultation brochure and survey questionnaires will be available to take away during the consultation period from the following locations during normal business hours:

  • Bean Youth and Community Centre

High Street, Bean, DA2 8AS

  • Greenhithe Library

London Road, Greenhithe, DA9 9EJ

  • Fleetdown Library

Swaledale Road, Dartford, DA2 6JZ

  • Longfield Library

49 Main Road, Longfield, DA3 7QT

  • Swan Valley Library

Swanscombe Library Discovery Centre,
Southfleet Road, Swanscombe, DA10 OBZ

  • Temple Hill Community Centre
    Temple Hill Square, Dartford, DA1 5HY
  • Coldharbour Road Library

3 Coldharbour Road, Northfleet, DA11 8AE

  • Hive House Library

Hive House, Northfleet, DA11 9DE

  • Gravesend Library

Windmill Street, Gravesend, DA12 IBE

  • Gravesham Borough Council

Civic Centre, Windmill Street, Gravesend, DA12 1AU

  • Maidstone County Hall

County Hall, Maidstone, ME14 1XQ

  • Stone Pavilion

Hayes Road, Greenhithe, DA9 9DS

The brochure and questionnaire as well as the Preliminary Environment Report (PEIR), Scheme Assessment Report and Technical Appraisal Report will also be available for inspection at the following locations:

  • Dartford Borough Council, Civic Centre, Home Gardens, Dartford, DA1 1DR
  • Swanscombe and Greenhithe Town Council, The Grove, Swanscombe, DA10 0G